[Origin20C] Maximum Gain no crunch

votes

Hi everyone :) 

I'm a total beginner when it comes to tube amps as it's my very first one.

I've got that weird feeling that something is wrong with my Origin 20C, when I push the gain to its max I don't get that sexy crunchy tone.

I can see the lights of all the 3 preamp and power tubes through the grid. 

If one of them was dead It shouldn't be lightened at all right ?

I thought I had to wait for 30s before pushing the master and play but saw later on the notice that they recommend to do it 2 minutes after turning amp on.

Plus, one our two times and used to transistors amps, I didn't wait at all. Could it caused the issue?

I don't hear any particular cracks, just a bit of white noise when I push it all up

Thanks you all !! 

edited 23 May 2020 at 07:34 PM

Charly CARRELET

asked 23 May 2020 at 07:30 PM

Charly CARRELET
Hi Charly,

I'm an Origin 50h owner, and I'm also new to tube amps, but I've been doing a lot of reading up on them since I got the Origin. I would say that there is probably nothing wrong with your amp. Mine is the same. From what I gather it's just the nature of the beast. These amps are modeled on vintage Marshall amps, which means you have to turn them up pretty loud to get that crunchy gain you're after. Even with the gain on full, you'd need to turn the master volume up quite a bit to get to the sweet spot. Not very practical, I know.